raft the rio. july 16th, twenty thirteen.

Well, I am once again slacking…

Last month (June), I met up with Erik Winter to photograph Raft the Rio 2013. Essentially, this is a race in which participants create handmade rafts out of recyclable materials and then “race” down a three-mile stretch of the Rio Grande River. I use the term “race” loosely, as it’s more of a challenge just to keep afloat. That being said, the water was not deep at all – if you live in Las Cruces, you know the Rio has been dry for a number of months, in fact they just released water a couple of days before the race; saw a number of people – including kids – standing up, the water was at most waist deep.

There were a lot of interesting, creative rafts this year – however, because they were so bunched together at the start, I didn’t get many shots. In fact, when I first got home from the race, I looked through and wasn’t happy with anything; a bunch of snapshots. Then, a few days ago as I was cleaning out old folders, I revisited the images from Raft the Rio 2013. I still am not too impressed with what I got, but I played around with some and came up with these -

rioraftrace_1

rioraftrace_2

rioraftrace_3

rioraftrace_4

rioraftrace_5

rioraftrace_6

rioraftrace_7

Yes, there was pretty heavy editing in Lightroom; I decided since the images weren’t anything special, I’d give them some funky colors and tones. And the dragonfly…well, that was a happy accident while I was waiting for the rafters to start.

Images shot with Canon 5DMK2, Canon 35 1.4L and Canon 70-200 2.8L IS lenses.

Edited with Adobe Lightroom 4.4.

  1. {{{crickets sounds}}}

    Mi Amor I hope to see some new posts in here. You have been so inspired lately and I think is time for you to share your amazing shots!

    Te Amo,

    ~Ro-Ro

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

