Day 2 – “I was hoping to steal a kid for this.” 02/365

So all day today, I was trying to find something to shoot. It being Sunday I was running errands and getting ready for a busy work week. While driving around, I came up with a ton of ideas…many of which I will try at a later date. As many of you may or may not know, I did a series on playgrounds years ago – all shot using 35mm disposable film cameras (Kodak Funsavers, etc). These to date have been my most successful series – “successful” meaning “made me the most money with.” Also, some of these images have been used to in redesigning several playgrounds – which makes me feel like I have somehow given back to a community. I have always wanted to redo this series in digital and expand to other towns around Lubbock.

Tonight I hoped to start that. I called my friend Danielle Patton and asked if she could bring her son to Legacy Playvillage for some photos. She had not problem and met me out there. I had a great shot in my head, unfortunately I went out too late and the light was not what I needed. So, while Danielle’s kid was running around, I took a few shots and this was one of my favorites.

I took a few of her child reaching for the blue handles, but they didn’t turn out to my liking.

While I generally do not like photographing people in a posed way, I am really happy with the way this turned out!

Shot with Canon 5DMK2, 35mm 1.4L lens; F3.5 at 1/60th ISO 400. Edited with Adobe Lightroom 2.6

    • allisonralston
    • January 10th, 2010

    I love this one! I’m the same way with posed photos, but this one turned out great! 🙂

  1. Very cool. Though I have no problem with posed photos (take a look through my photos to see the proof of this). I did a few shoots at parks, but it was a few years ago and I was never fully satisfied with the results. Maybe I’ll try again during this whole thing. Oooh, or we can all meet at one and each of us can stand in a circle taking a picture of each other taking pictures of the next. Makes sense in my mind, I’ll try and come up with a better way to explain it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

