Project 365, Day 3…Not for the weak stomach…January 11, veinte diez

Today I received a “gift” from my boss. He called me at 5:30 AM and told me to make sure and bring my photography gear when I come in. I said ok, without question. I work at TTUHSC/UMC doing medical photography and video so I was excited since it’s been a while since I photographed a surgery; generally, the department wants video. When I got to work I found out I was photographing an orthopedic surgery…I was stoked!!! I love getting to play with the orthopedics because they have all the cool toys – drills, screws, plates – they get to crack, break, and remove bones, and more. My father is an orthopedic surgeon and lately I have been able to photograph a lot of his surgeries when I go home.

So when I able to be in an orthopedic surgery, I felt right at home. If I ever decide to go to medical school, orthopedic will definitely be my specialty.

Anyway, since I didn’t get a chance to photograph much else today, I am posting a photo I took during the surgery…don’t worry, I decided NOT to post anything gory because I don’t want to get a ton of comments from people saying to “take this off, this is gross, I almost threw up, etc.” I will eventually get a portfolio site up that will include some surgery images though.

While they were finishing up, I looked over and saw this image. It’s just a bunch of tools they used during the surgery, but I really liked the way they were laying there.

Hope it doesn’t gross too many people out…

Shot with Canon 5DMK2 and 24-105 f4.0L. ISO 1250, 67mm, f4.5 @ 1/160. Edited with Adobe Lightroom 2.6

    • allisonralston
    • January 11th, 2010

    I love this picture! Not too gory.

  1. Nicely done! 🙂

  2. Very nice!

  3. Love it! It has sort of a “calm after the storm” atmosphere over it. A very hectic still life as it makes me think of what’s preceeded the shot. Love the depth-of-field.

      • robertpeinert
      • January 14th, 2010

      WOW…thanks a lot Øystein!!! Coming from you, that means a lot. Thanks for the encouraging comment!

      • Actually feel very inspired by your project. Thinking about starting a 365 myself. Maybe Fabruary 1st or something 🙂

        • robertpeinert
        • January 15th, 2010

        You should…I’d love to see more of your work!!

        I originally was going to start Feb 1. I didn’t start Jan. 1 bc of work schedule; but with all my friends here starting, I didn’t want to be so behind. Plus, I realized how far off Feb 1 is…at least at the time. If you start, let me know and I will link to yours as well!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

