Day 4…Not that exciting, but Crayola Crayons Rock!!

So today was a pretty busy day at work and wasn’t really feeling up to doing any photography. However, I really want to keep up with this Project 365…and with it being only Day 4 for me, I felt even more inclined to shoot SOMETHING new today.

I am doing some shots of Crayola Crayons for a local office store in Junction, TX. If Crayola likes the photos, they will be used for their back-to-school ads for next Fall. While this was in the works since May, I was finally contacted and sent a few boxes of crayons to shoot. It is pretty cool because this is the first time I have been sent a product to shoot. They sent me two of the 64 “mega” boxes with the built-in sharpener and a couple of smaller boxes. They did not give me an specifics, so I have complete artistic control over the shots. They aren’t due until March, but since I was tired and somewhat unmotivated, I decided to pull out the crayons and take a few “test” shots. Here is one I threw together –

The best part about this…even if Crayola doesn’t used my photos, they will be used in the Junction store AND I get to keep the crayons!!!

Shot with Canon 5DMK2 and 70-200 2.8L IS lens W/ 20mm extension tube.

ISO 1250, 120mm, f4.0 at 1/15 sec. Edited with Adobe Lightroom 2.6.

  1. Yes, best part=keeping the crayons. Haha!

    Good job in placing the product in the shot. Plenty of room for text in advertising.

  2. I love how your “I wasn’t really feeling up to it” shot is better than most of my really trying shots. Ass.

    But really great shot (thus the name calling).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

