Day 5 of 365…new toy; not sure about the photo…January 13, 20 ten

Earlier today I bought this before work. I am trying to shoot more products and I thought this might be a nice to have; true, I could have bought foam core and built the same thing…but I am lazy. Anyway, I played around and did a few shots of a wooden angel I have. I used the two lights that came with it – they were at the side – and had a Canon 580EXII with a red filter off camera left. NOTE: Not sure I will be using the lights that came with it that much, they get very hot and I think I’ll get better results by using strictly speedlights. Again, I am playing with very shallow depth-of-field. After few shots, I brought them into Adobe Lightroom and dropped the white balance to around 2300 on this image:

Not sure how I feel about the shot… I do like how dropping the white balance helped bring out the detail and shading of the wood. Anyway, hope you enjoy.

Shot with Canon 5DMK2 and 70-200 2.8L IS lens. ISO 400, 200mm, f2.8 @ 1/80 sec. Edited with Adobe Lightroom 2.6.

  1. it’s crazy how many of your things i have around my house… anyways, i have been stalking your blog for a few hours… you are an incredible photographer, i admire you.
    your pictures always inspiring me to keep going… you know how much i love photography, it makes me happy… it is one of the passions we share (among other things) and i can’t wait to go on a photo adventure with you again.. we always have fun and get crazy… doesn’t really matter where we go, the cemetery, a new town, around the block, even inside the house… exploring with you is perfection… we could drive till no one can find us…
    i miss u Mr. Peinert… keep sharing your marvelous photos…
    luvs, ro~ro

    p.s.
    i ADORE you, you crazy, gorgeous, WONDERFUL (but also sometimes quite WEIRD – but still very LOVELY) person… te amo…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

