Day 12/365…Warhol Inspiration, Attempt 1…January 20, twenty 10

Back in the days of my college undergrad years, one of my photography assignments was to recreate a painting using photography. No…you couldn’t simply take a photograph of the painting…I asked. The student had to recreate the scene in the painting, down to the lighting and everything. Well…needless to say, I failed miserably. I picked something I thought would be easy…and I was wrong. Lately I have been going through all my old 35mm slides and digital images trying to re-edit my photos and see how far I have come skill/talent wise – which, I’ll be honest I am somewhat surprised at how dramatic the change is. Anyway, I came across the painting recreation assignment and decided I want to try it again.

During lunch, I was browsing the Internets for paintings that I could recreate. I came across Andy Warhol’s work. Now, I have always been a fan of Warhol and thought it would be a good challenge. I am starting with his infamous tomato  soup can. Before I post the photo, I want it to be known that this was probably the most time I have spent on a single subject/image WITHOUT moving it. And, honestly, I am still not too happy with it…but hey, this is a work in progress.

Shot with Canon 5DMK2 and 70-200 2.8L IS lens W/ 12mm extension tube and two Canon 580 EXII flashes on either side of the can.

ISO 400, 90mm, f5.6 at 1/13 sec. Edited with Adobe Lightroom 2.6.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

