Day 24/365…sad day…february 1, 2010

For those that do or don’t know, I now photograph cars for the Lubbock AJ’s Drive magazine. It’s not the most exciting thing in the word; but it’s easy and pays fairly well…for what it is. Today was my second time to go out and shoot…this is a little frustrating because there is no set schedule yet, and sometimes I get called the same day they need/want me to shoot…which with working two part-time jobs isn’t something I can do too often.

Anyway, today while waiting for them to move a car out, something caught my eye –  

A KTXT (Tech’s alternative college radio station – that they killed) sticker on the back of one of used cars. Now, I never officially worked/volunteered at KTXT, but it still holds a great place in my heart. Not only did the station (generally) play good music, but I’ve met most of my closest friends through KTXT. I still keep in some contact with many of them and they are friends I know I can call on when I need help. In fact, when my mom passed away last November, it was friends I met through KTXT who helped me through it all and offered the most support. Also…KTXT kids love to drink…which is always a great thing to have in a friend.

It was nice to see the sticker and great to recall the memories, but still sad to know it will never be again.

BTW…it’s sad to realize that the gear I had in my bag was probably worth more than most (if not all) of the cars I shot today…there were a few we even had to push bc they would not start.

Shot with iPhone 3G using The Best Camera app. © added in Adobe Lightroom 2.6.

  1. I’we always wondered why all American radio stations seem to have a “K” in their name/acronym. Do you know why?

    Like the clouds in the window and the hood. Makes what would otherwise have been a quite plain snapshot interesting!

    • robertpeinert
    • February 2nd, 2010

    I do now know why they start with K. Maybe it has something to do with the broadcast regulations or something…I’ll look in to this as you’ve peaked my curiosity.

    The clouds was one of the first things I noticed when I looked at the picture on my computer. Especially they way they help frame the sticker.

  2. The K refers to the location of the station post 1930 or 40 something. All stations west of the Mississippi got a K in front of it, because apparently West starts with a K, all the stations east of the Mississippi got a W, because that also makes sense.

    Older stations were not required to get their letters changed, which is why WOAI is in San Antonio.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

