Day 27/365…surgery photo (you’ve been warned)…february 4, 2010

Today, again, I am pretty swamped with school work. After work, I plan on heading up to the library to finish (and start) two homeworks. This morning, along with helping a friend with a car shoot, I have been editing my surgery photos in an attempt to create a medical photography portfolio that I can send to possible employers.

This is not one of my favorite shots, and I wasn’t even planning on putting it in my portfolio….until today. A little background: My father is an orthopaedic surgeon in Harlingen, TX. When I go home, I spend quite a bit of time with him and photograph his surgeries. Because he is an orthopaedic, he usually uses prosthetics – pins, plates, rods, etc – in his surgeries. We generally have a rep from the company that makes these prosthetics; they are there to assist and make sure the device is being used properly.

I often show the rep – as he is a close friend to my dad and others – the shots I got in hopes they might be interested. Well, today I received word that they are using this photo in a new brochure and presentation –

They really didn’t go into much detail, but they like how they can show their product actually being used. I am pretty excited about this because they told me there was interest in using more of my shots that illustrated their products being used in the field; this being vs. the product being shot on a white background.

So yes, this isn’t a new shot, but I wanted to share given the news I received about it. And if it grosses you out…well, sorry this is what I do.

Shot with Canon 5DMK2 and 24-105 f4.0L lens.

ISO 1250, 105mm, f6.3 @ 1/1000 sec. Edited with Adobe Lightroom 2.6

  1. Congrats! 🙂 I’m excited for your new opportunity!

    • Carmela Chavez Liberman
    • February 4th, 2010

    SO COOL! What a beautiful shot, kind of shocking at first but so well lit and composed it’s just lovely to look at. Good job! (And congrats! It’s nice to be recognized, isn’t it?)

  2. Congratulations!

    Nice composition and depth-of-field drawing the eye to the prosthesis!

    A bit oversaturated reds in the wound, perhaps?

      • robertpeinert
      • February 9th, 2010

      Øystein,

      I agree, the reds are a little saturated. They were a little blown out from the surgery light, so I had to adjust to compensate. Still trying to “perfect” for the portfolio blog.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

