Day 29/365…macro smackro…february 6, 2010

Today a few friends and I went on a little photo adventure. We went to a park near the Lubbock Cemetery (the same cemetery Buddy Holly is buried in, mind you) and we went to a back area known as “Hell’s Gate.” I honestly have no idea why it’s called “Hell’s Gate,” but apparently all the cool kids from Lubbock named it that and it stuck. Anyway, we walked around in this area taking pictures of anything and everything we found interesting. I got a bunch of great shots so it was pretty hard deciding which to post for today (I’ll get around to posting the others sometime); I almost posted a great railroad shot I got, but figured since I’ve already posted one, I would wait. Here is one of my favorites from today; macro seemed to be the “theme” for today as all of us were shooting it –

I am really not sure what these are, but they looked amazing…almost like something out of a bad sci-fi movie. I am glad they were dead, because I honestly do not think they would be as interesting in bloom.

Shot with Canon 5DMK2 and 35 1.4L lens W/ 12mm extension tube.

ISO 100, 35mm, f5.6 @ 1/200 sec. Edited with Adobe Lightroom 2.6.

  1. That looks awesome, still need to edit my shots from yesterday

  2. Very nice! Sci-fi was my association as well. Started thinking about Day of the Triffids!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.