Day 33/365…conjunction junction…february 10, 2010

Lately I have been going through a lot of my photos, both old and new. Today, while cleaning up around my room I found my slides from Wyman’s Junction course I took last May. I started looking through some of them on my light box and I thought it would be cool to take a photo of one. I got Kyle to hold this slide about 10 inches off the box, threw on an extension tube and snapped a quick picture –

I tried a few where you can see the outline of the light box, but this one stood out because you can see the focus on the flower. (Really not sure where that green is coming from…) The photo in the slide was taken with my Canon 1N-RS with a 400mm 2.8L (aka Darrell’s speedboat) and an extension tube, although I do not recall which one.

Shot with Canon 5DMK2 and 50 1.4 lens W/ 12mm extension tube.

ISO 320, 50mm, f2.8 @ 1/1600 sec. Edited with Adobe Lightroom 2.6.

  1. Great idea for a photo! I might have to steal it some day 😉

    The shallow DOF really makes the flower stand out.

    People come to our dept with old slides all the time. Most often we scan them of course, but sometimes (if I have the time) I like to shoot them with the repro camera, using a masked off lightbox. Te result is often better then the scan.

  2. Awww man… this photo reminds me of all the slides I still have to scan. =(

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

