Day 36/365…a little personal…february 13, 2010

This post and photo is a little personal…

Today I went to Acuff, TX with some local photogs. We had a great time and ate at the fantastic Acuff Steakhouse – based on a much appreciated recommendation by Jerod Foster. I got a few good shots from the trip, which I will post later; honestly, I had more fun spending time with some close friends.

Now for the personal part…

About a month before my mother passed away, we were talking about my photography – I just got back from a shoot and was telling her about it. She asked me to start photographing collections of things like clouds, trees, roads, and other items we see daily but take for granted. Not exactly sure what she wanted me to do with them after, but I have started. During our outing, I found this tree…

Yes, I know this is a dead (not blooming) tree…and no, it isn’t supposed to be some sort of symbolic image. I have always like the way dead trees look.

Again, sorry if this is depressing…and I’ll be honest, this was hard to write.

Shot with Canon 5DMK2 and 35 1.4L lens.

ISO 200, 35mm, f5.0 @ 1/2500 sec. Edited with Adobe Lightroom 2.6.

    • tracy
    • February 13th, 2010

    the pic is lovely. funny, I didn’t think the tree looked dead. when u take its picture, in some ways you keep it alive.

  1. Very cool tree! Almost seems to be moving.

    • Carmela Chavez Liberman
    • February 15th, 2010

    I think it’s beautiful that you are collecting those things for her. I’m glad you shared.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

