Day 53/365…windmill or windmeal?…march 2, 2010

I always used to call them windmeals when I was younger…my mom would get “upset” and used to always correct me. Even today, I still call them windmeals just to mess with her.

I got a strange request today. A friend from San Antonio is doing a project related to wind power and windmill usage, especially across Texas. He apparently received a pretty big grant and will be traveling across the United States and possibly to other countries to study the uses of windmills. He called asking if I had ever photographed windmills before; and if so, could I send him some shots to use for his project. A couple of years ago, I did a shoot for Spirit Magazine – the Southwest Airlines Magazine – on windmills. So I went through some of those shots and found some to send to my friend. While he may not use this one, it is still one of my favorite shots (at least of windmeals, love you and miss you mom) –

Shot with Canon 5D and 70-200 2.8L IS lens.

ISO 30, 75mm, f32 @ 1 sec. Edited with Adobe Photoshop CS3 and Lightroom 2.6.

  1. Very cool shot, is this the one that ran in Spirit?

      • robertpeinert
      • March 2nd, 2010

      Thanks! No, this isn’t the shot that ran in Spirit – although this was their second choice. Here is the image that ran -http://web.me.com/robert.peinert/Site/Photos.html (apparently, I can’t post images in a comment)

  2. Love the shot and the windmeal story!

      • robertpeinert
      • March 2nd, 2010

      Thanks Øystein! The story makes it more personal to me and not just about selling an image.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

