June 7, twenty ten…the end of one, the beginning of another…

Today marks the last day I will be working on my 365 photo-a-day project. This has truly been a challenging project and I have enjoyed most of it and been extremely happy with many of the photographs I have taken and posted, specifically for this project. However, as I am facing some new directions and challenges in life, I have decided to put this behind me and move on to new things. I will still post new photos (and ones I get published) to this blog on a regular basis, just not every day.

One of the reasons I am deciding to “close” this project is that it was becoming more of a chore than anything else to get a photo taken and posted each and everyday. Photography has been a passion for many, many years. I started shooting when I was younger and continue to this day; hell, I went to college for photography. But, this project was beginning to make me feel like I HAVE to shoot rather than WANT to shoot….and that should not happen.

Another reason is my decision to do more with my photography. I have always shot and booked smaller photography gigs through word of mouth, or I’ve known someone that knows someone else that needs a specific picture of something and that person that knows me would be “Hey, my friend Rob takes pictures, maybe he can get the shot you want” – again, more word of mouth. I did spend some time looking through the 2010 Photographer’s Market book and got a few images published through that. But, I’ve I never really marked myself. Basically, I have been lucky to make the money I have with photography with little to no effort. But it’s now time for all that to change. There is a decent photo market where I am located now, and I am also closer to many larger cities down here. I will be finally creating a business out of my photography; I will be working on a REAL web site, getting a logo, and (more importantly) marketing myself as a photographer.

So, look for many changes to come soon! As I mentioned, I will still update this blog on a regular basis – hopefully at least once a week – so please, I encourage you to check back regularly. You can also follow me on twitter (@rpeinert) or find me on facebook to find out when I add new posts to this blog.

Now, on to what you all came to see – photos! A couple of weeks ago, my father and I went fishing in New Mexico. It was part graduation present, part spending father/son time together. I had my camera, but we had so much fun fishing I forgot to take pictures half of the time; but I did snap a few:

This was right outside of the cabins we stayed in –

After the last day of fishing, we saw this little guy crossing the stream –

Here he’s (or she) was hiding behind the rocks when the current picked up –

Tried to shoot some hummingbirds….pain in my ass –

Yep, camera almost went in the water during this one –

And finally, the infamous “ET rock” (left hand side of the image, coming out of the water) –

Thanks to all that have been checking out this project and please keep checking back regularly for updates and, of course, photos!

Robert Peinert

Robert Peinert Photography

  1. bummer to see you are no longer doing this project…but glad to see you are starting new challenges and are gonna keep updating it.

      • robertpeinert
      • June 7th, 2010

      thanks ponder. and kudos to you for sticking with it. now, it’s down to just you and Sam B.

    • Carm
    • June 7th, 2010

    Bummer that you’re out, but you made it halfway. There were some beautiful images along the way. Good luck in your next step.

  2. I wish you the best in all of your future endeavors! Sad I didn’t get to see you before you left Lubbock, but I’m sure we’ll cross paths again. Good luck on the new business. If there is anything I can do for you or lend a hand with, let me know! I’m always willing to help! 🙂

    • robertpeinert
    • June 8th, 2010

    Thank you all for the support. Again, please keep checking back for updates, and more importantly new photos!

  3. Welcome to the club 😉

    I’ve really enjoyed your blog and I’m still gonna check in.

    Good luck with your business!

  1. July 13th, 2012

Leave a Reply

