What Hurricane??? June 30, twenty ten

So for those that don’t know, I have temporarily moved to Harlingen, Texas, while I continue searching for a job. Harlingen is in South Texas, about twenty miles North of Brownsville.

Now if you’ve been keeping up with the news at all, you know Hurricane Alex is about to hit; many places in South Texas are feeling its “wrath” – including Harlingen. We have been getting heavy rains over the last two days, along with some pretty strong winds, and more to come. With a slight break in the weather, I thought I’d grab my camera and see what kind of effects Hurricane Alex is having on my neighborhood:

This is one of my favorites because of the trees. This is an open farm area just behind our neighborhood –

Many board up their houses and businesses around here when there are hurricanes (or threats of) –

Another shot of the farmland behind us –

This is just across the street from my house –

Tomorrow I plan on shooting more and possibly some video. Tried going out to South Padre Island to get some great shots at the beach; but when we got to the bridge connecting to the mainland, we were advised to turn around because the bridge would soon be closed and no guarantee on when it would reopen. So, check soon for some more photos and hopefully a few videos!

All images shot with Canon 5DMK2 and 24-105 f4.0L lens.

Edited with Adobe Lightroom 2.7.

  1. Nice shots man, stay safe!

    • Carm
    • June 30th, 2010

    Love the color in the first image. Great shots!

    • Esme :P
    • May 29th, 2012

    Wow!! Great shots baby!! that’s so crazy, have I ever told u my car got stolen during that hurricane?

    • Esme :P
    • May 29th, 2012

    Wow baby, great shots! Have I ever told u that my car was stolen during that hurricane?

      • robertpeinert
      • May 29th, 2012

      Thanks baby! Yeah, you told me it was stolen but never mentioned it was during this hurricane.

      Wait…now that I think about it, yeah you did tell me it was during the hurricane. I remember you telling me about parking it somewhere and that’s when it was stolen.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

