Day….well, no more days. Go to Acuff, TX! September 23, 2010

First, my attempt to restart my 365 was a failure. BUT for good reasons…I have been picking up A LOT more freelance work. That has kept me pretty busy and back behind the camera. Also I have been shooting a bunch of surgeries, which I always enjoy. One of my recent shoots was in Santa Fe, NM; it was for a fishing company’s catalog that will be coming out later this year. Once the catalog comes out, I should be able to show some of the shots. I will still post here occasionally, plus I am working on getting images for my site that I will soon setup with Graph Paper Press – so I’ll be “official.”

As I just mentioned, I have been going through ALL of my photos – renaming, organizing, deleting, and gathering ones for my site. While editing, I cam across photos from a trip to Acuff, TX. While living in Lubbock, a friend mentioned the desire to photograph a ghost town. So, to the interwebs we went to find nearby ghost towns. Acuff came up and we got some other friends together – who all happened to be photogs – and jumped in the car(s) and took off.

If you blinked, you would drive right through Acuff, TX. In fact, if I remember we had to turn around because we did just that. Well….I did, and the others were following me. Silly people. There isn’t much in the town, but I always find random things to photograph, like the old torn down cotton gin and a few abandoned buildings.

And yes, as always, I managed to do something “stupid” because I wasn’t thinking about my safety, I just wanted to get the shot. On this trip, among other things, I got my camera stuck in the floor boards of an old house.

After we finished shooting, we ate at the Acuff Steakhouse based on a recommendation by Jerod Foster. Well, to this day, I cannot thank him enough. That was some of the best food.

If you get a chance, you really should get out Acuff, TX and especially the Acuff Steakhouse. I promise you will not be disappointed.

Shot with Canon 5DMK2 and 35 1.4L lens.

ISO 200, 35mm, f5.o @ 1/5000 sec. Edited with Adobe Lightroom 2.7.

    • lynsey
    • September 23rd, 2010

    this was such a fun day! friends, fotos and food 🙂

    great post, sir!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

