everyday beauty. April 17, twenty 11.

Well, we’re on our 4th topic: Everyday Beauty

I’m pretty pleased with how well this whole “long-distance photo adventure” thing has worked out. Not that I had doubts, but I just wasn’t sure HOW it would go.

I knew I wanted to do something different for this one.

If you have been on a photo adventure with me before, you know I enjoy torn down, rotting houses/shacks/buildings. I love the mystery behind them and the wonders you can find inside. When I lived in Lubbock, there was an abundance of these run-down buildings in the surrounding farm lands. One of the great things about these is how they “came to life” in the West Texas Winds.

Most people would simply drive past these without a moments thought. But to me…to me they are something more.

There truly is a “beauty” in these houses; whether it’s the way the roof collapsed, the way a tree grows through the floor, the treasures left behind, or the surroundings – an empty field, filled with silence.

Down here is South Texas, I have found few that match allure of those in West Texas. But, there is one particular run-down house that I pass daily. One side is covered in graffiti. One side covered in a grassy plant, appearing to slowly crawl across the frame, inch by inch. The front…the place where a child once entered after a day full of play… bordered, with a sign reading “No Trespassing/Prohibido el Paso.”

Each day I passed, I begged for that board to be ripped off. I wanted to see what lay inside. I wanted to see the beauty. Not for the theme, but for my own curiosity. For my own joy.

After many trips, many wishes, it was finally gone. I could see inside. It brought me back to the many photo-adventures in Lubbock. It brought me back to a better time. True, it was nothing magical. Nothing I hadn’t seen before. But…Finally being able to see the “inner beauty” of this shack…a shack that was once a family’s home…

Shot with Canon 5DMK2 and 35 1.4L lens.

ISO 200, 35mm, f5.6 @ 1/200 sec. Edited with Adobe Lightroom 2.7 and Nik Sliver Efex Pro 2.

  1. Well said and well photographed. I dig it.

    • Katherynn
    • April 17th, 2011

    Awesome intro to the photo, and love the textures in the wood! Great capture! 🙂

  1. April 17th, 2011

Leave a Reply

