south padre island portrait shoot. august 16, twenty 11.

This past Saturday our photo club went to take some portraits at South Padre Island. I know what you’re thinking…I always shoot at South Padre Island; yes, a lot of the recent “for me” shoots have been at the island, but when you’re only 45 mins away…and there really isn’t much else around you…why not!

This all started because a new group member, Elena, wanted some pictures taken at the island. She said she didn’t really want anything “posed,” she wanted more “natural” shots.

Now, before I go on, I really don’t shoot portraits. I really dislike telling people to pose like this and stand like that. I prefer “street style” when it comes to portraits…and really any people shots in general. I’d rather capture people in their moment than have them stand in a fake way with some fake smile.

Don’t get me wrong. I enjoy looking at OTHER photographers’ portraits where they’ve posed them and whatnot; it’s just not my style.

However, we have several people in our group that DO photograph a lot of portraits where they tell people to “stand like this” and “smile like that.” They are great at it. So, I wasn’t too worried; I knew I would sneak in some shots while others directed her.

It was a fun shoot overall. Elena had a blast…and that was a HUGE reason the shoot was so good. When the model has just as much fun…if not more….as the photographer(s), it is always a great time.

And some other random shots from the day….

Some of these were taken with an ultra-wide angle lens I rented, specifically for this; I was very pleased with the lens and it looks like I’ll be soon adding it to my bag.

All images shot with Canon 5DMK2, lenses – Canon 35 1.4L, Canon 70-200 2.8L IS, Tokina 16-28 2.8 Pro FX.

Edited with Adobe Lightroom 2.7.

I need to (attempt to) post more often…emphasis on “attempt to”….

    • Lupita Zapata
    • August 17th, 2011

    Well, What can I say…I love the pictures!!! My favorite would be the last photo of Elena….

    • Carmela
    • August 30th, 2011

    Love the b&w! And what great light.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

