february photo-a-day challenge. day 3 – hands. february 3, twenty twelve.

I was really excited about my original idea for this shot. There is a small wood-working shop in “Historical” Downtown Harlingen; my idea was to get a closeup – a tight closeup – of the woodworker’s hand working on a piece. After a bit of thrifting (“shopping at thrift stores” for you non-hipsters), I went to get my shot, however….we were told the woodworker had gone and would return later. My girlfriend and I continued our shopping, with intent to return. Then, while visiting a clothing store, we met Richard Hess. Richard, who claims he is a young 53 year-old-man, is the father of the shop’s owner. He is a local musician, he even did a little song and dance for us, and an artist. As he was putting the finishing touches on a drawing, I noticed his hands….I knew I had my shot. This is my favorite and my shot for the day – “Hands” –

Now, because I want to you picture Richard Hess – who recently turned 80 – singing and dancing, here is a better shot of him…working on his art:

Today was truly a good day.

Images shot with Canon 5DMK2 and Canon 35 1.4L lens.

Edited with Adobe Lightroom 3.6 and Silver Efex Pro 2.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

