(No) Lions, and (No) Tigers), and (No) Bears…Oh, Boo. April 1, twenty twelve.

Well, there were lions and tigers, but they were asleep or hiding from the heat.

A couple of weeks ago, members of the Rio Photo Club made a trip to the Gladys Porter Zoo. It was a nice little outing; I was still getting over some kind of illness so I wasn’t feeling to hot, but I still had a good time. Because we are getting “summer-like weather” here in Brownsville with temperatures hitting the mid to upper 90s by as early as 10, many of the animals are hiding from the heat and/or sleeping in whatever shade they can find. The average “zoo visitor” is usually fine with this because the animals are still there and visible – they just aren’t doing much; however, as a photographer, I am looking for sometime more “exciting” – if the animals are just sleeping (or in some cases not even visible) then there isn’t much worth photographing.

I’ve come to realize that this just isn’t the best time to visit the zoo; heck, maybe Brownsville, TX, isn’t the best place for many of the animals they have in the Gladys Porter Zoo – the extreme heat and humidity isn’t too enjoyable for most.

Regardless, I do enjoy visiting the zoo and taking pictures when I can. I think in the future I just need to have lower expectations….

Here are a few of my favorites from the day:

Then I found this little crazy-ass looking spider, so I took a few shots of him….

Images shot with Canon 5DMK2, Canon 70-200 2.8L IS and Canon 24-205 4L IS lenses.

Edited with Adobe Lightroom 3.6 and Silver Efex Pro 2.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

