the crosses. may 24, twenty twelve.

This blog is about three weeks overdue, but here it goes…

Many of you have already figured this out, others may have not, and I am sure some just don’t care….I have moved to Las Cruces, New Mexico.

Yup, took a big jump and left South Texas at the beginning of the month (May); I’m not talking about South Texas as in San Antonio/Hill Country, I’m talking about South Texas about 20-30 mins away from the Mexican border. While I enjoyed a few things in Harlingen, TX, there really wasn’t much happening for me. I spent the better part of my two years there job searching and doing freelance photography (mainly medical) and volunteering in a handful of areas; I also became a registered pharmacy technician. I tried to get a job down there, but there was one major problem: I am white and do not speak spanish. You may be asking why I moved there in the first place ?….Simple answer: to spend time with my dad since my mom had recently passed away and to “figure out the next stage in life.”

As I said, there really wasn’t much for me in South Texas….I was picking up work as a freelance photographer, but most of that was medical or out near Santa Fe, NM; I had some product photography work I did at my home studio as well. I was ready to leave.

Yes, I had made a few friends and other contacts there, but I still couldn’t get much going because of language issues; basically I was a minority there. Then came the camera club….that’s where I met Rocio Velasquez; things immediately changed – I won’t go in too much detail, that’s for another blog, but I’ll just leave it at we are dating (boyfriend/girlfriend, lovers, an item…or whatever the kids are calling it these days) and very committed to each other. SHE …was the one reason I truly wanted to stay. I knew it would be hard, but I still had to leave.

My father had been working here in Las Cruces since September in a “fill-in/temporary” type situation. In January they talked to him about coming on permanently…in March he agreed. It took a few months to get everything arranged but they finally got him moved out at the beginning of this month. Since I didn’t have much going for me, he said I was welcome to come out and “see what’s next for me….” At the time, it was hard to leave Rocio, but I figured it was the best option for me – at least for the moment.

So here I am…in Las Cruces, New Mexico.

I am still in the process of “settling in” – more emotionally at this point, and I’ve only done a bit of exploring. However, things are passing and I am ready to explore and see what this place has to offer….

More to come on this later, but for now here are a couple of photos I’ve taken while here:

I’ve gotta say, even though I haven’t gotten out much and really miss Rocio…I am liking it here so far; and it’s nice to be with my dad again.

Photos taken with iPhone 4s and Canon 5DMK2 using a variety of lenses.

  1. wonderful pics!!! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

