scott kelby photo walk. october 21, twenty twelve.

Last Saturday, I participated in Scott Kelby’s Worldwide Photo Walk; like the name suggests, it’s a worldwide event where photogs gather and walk around taking pictures. I’ve participated in a couple while I lived in Lubbock (Texas) and they were a blast, so I was excited to find someone had organized one here in Las Cruces (New Mexico).

Basically, the person that “leads” their respective group decides where, and what time, the walk will take place – all walks happened on October 13th. Our group leader chose to have our walk during the downtown farmers and crafts market. Unfortunately, the time of day wasn’t the greatest for taking pictures – but we made it work.

Not many photogs showed up for the walk, but I noticed many others taking pictures – some tourists, others were photogs that arrived late. The plan was to meet up for lunch after, around noon, but I got pre-occupied talking to many of the vendors; needless to say I probably had more fun talking to a bunch of local artists/vendors than I would have chimping with the other walkers at lunch.

Honestly, I didn’t find too much to take photos of; for me, it was just a chance to finally experience one, of the many, farmers markets here and chat with some of the locals.

Here are a few of my favorites: 

Definitely a fun day and I’m looking forward to next year’s walk!

Images shot with Canon 5DMK2 and Canon 35 1.4L lens.

Edited with Adobe Lightroom 4.2 and Silver Efex Pro 2.

 

  1. Good stuff. Better shots than what you lead us to believe. 🙂

    • katherynn
    • October 21st, 2012

    Great shots! Talking to the locals and artisans is the best.. esp when you get to film them as well! 🙂 great job!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

