dacc photo-of-the-year contest and such. november 28, twenty twelve.

OK, for those of you that are friends with me on facebook this is old news…well, most of it…

When I moved to Las Cruces, NM, in May of this year (2012) I joined the Doña Ana Camera Club (DACC). I was a bit surprised to find that I am the youngest member; I assumed that this being a (somewhat) “college town” that I might find a few members my age, but none yet. That was actually one of the main reasons I joined – hoping to meet new people in a town where I knew no one, except for my father.

I won’t go into much detail about this, but we just had our Photo-of-the-Year Contest. Basically, everyone (that wanted to) could submit three images; there was no category/theme, so it was just one lump group of photos. We all knew the scoring info before and that the photos would be sent to three judges, all outside of the club. And there were two groups: “Group A” = previous winners and anyone that wanted to enter that group, “Group B” = everyone else. Since I was a newbie, I went with “Group B” – I also felt I might have a better chance of winning a ribbon in this group.

Now, I shoot a pretty wide array of stuff – portraits, landscape, medical, product, etc… So when they announced there was no “theme,” I kinda freaked out…How was I going to pick ONLY three images to submit? The photos had to be shot within the last two years, so that helped narrow it down a little, but I still ended up going through photos for a couple of hours.

I picked five and then had some friends narrow it to three. I then submitted. And waited.

Here are the three I submitted:

chopper

guitar (I don’t know why he looks so orange on here…)

hands

At our last meeting, November 20th, the winners were announced…

All three images won a Blue Ribbon (within Group B).

THREE BLUE RIBBONS!!!!

I was a little shocked, honestly; they first showed all the images (86) and I thought I’d maybe walk away with ONE Red Ribbon…but THREE?!?!? WOW…I was happy.

Then came to Photo Of The Year and Photographer Of The Year.

I was really shocked when this image appeared as Photo Of The Year:

chopper

I love this image, but I felt others may say there is too much going on in the background, or some may not like it because it’s been “over-processed,” or whatever. But no, the judges chose this at Photo Of The Year!! One of the comments was great: “You can almost smell the asphalt in this picture.” I also thought an image shot with a fisheye lens might be viewed as “artsy” or “gimmicky.”

Again, I was wrong.

braggin’ rights!!!

Another member won Photographer Of The Year. I believe she also won three Blue Ribbons, or maybe two Blue and one Red…but…there is a part of me that wants to see the score point totals and see just how close I was to also being Photographer Of The Year. I want to ask, but I am not sure if they will tell me. Oh well. I will take my Photo Of The Year and three Blue Ribbons and be happy! Now, we’ll see what happens next year when I MUST enter “Group A.”

In other news, I’ve been taking a break from photography – well, I haven’t been taking pictures…I have been re-organizing old photos, cataloging, etc. I shot a couple of events at the end of October, but really didn’t get much worth posting; maybe I will post them later, but for now they will sit on my hard drive. I will get back to shooting soon, but right now I’m enjoying NOT being behind the camera and enjoying my surroundings instead of feeling the need to document them.

In relation, I have decided to start doing portraits again. I figured the Christmas holiday was a great time to start; however, having to market myself in a brand new area has given me some challenges. I’ve already talked to a lady at the office I am volunteering at and she is very interested, so that will be a good start. Since this is a last-minute decision, I don’t want to get too crazy….but I hope it goes well and can start picking up more work in the new year.

I did a fair amount of portrait work when I lived in Lubbock and was finishing up my undergraduate degree, but soon after I got into commercial and medical photography and my portrait stuff was put on the back burner. PLUS, at the time, all of my other photog friends specialized in portrait and wedding photography, so I happily passed their information along.

I am excited to get back into portraits though, I miss working with people and being able to create that “connection” you get when photographing a person.

And lastly, there is a plan to (possibly) teach a basic photography course starting in summer – so that will be a new challenge that I am excited to take on.

Well, that’s all for now. Should get a few more posts up before the end of the year – including some with photos – but time will tell…

  1. Congrats friend! Wishing you the very best going back to portraits!

    • Katherynn
    • December 3rd, 2012

    woot!!! great job, Rob!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

