fuji x100 test drive. january 29, twenty thirteen.

I made a resolution to A) take more pictures and B) post more on the ol’ blog. Well, I’ve been doing the first part and now it’s time to catch up on posting…

I have been looking for a more “carry-able” camera for a while now; something small and simple and that doesn’t have the weight (and inconvenience) of my DSLR. Don’t get me wrong, I love the control and images I get from my Canon 5D Mark II, but it can be cumbersome. Trying to find a smaller camera that still gives me great images has been a challenge within itself. I have found several “compact” cameras that I thought would be good, but didn’t give me the image quality that I got from my 5D. Or it didn’t have the options I wanted. Or it would put me in the same situation as my DSLR – having multiple lenses to pick from. Then I found the Fuji X100

The Fuji X100 is a smallish (fits in my coat pocket) digital camera that has a great “old style camera” look to it. It also has a fixed/prime lens, which means I don’t need to worry about what lenses to use. It also has all the features that I am looking for. The only downside…the price; that and they just announced a new updated version (the Fuji X100s) that fixes a lot of the issues…but this won’t be available until March and will most likely be hard to come by (when the X100 first came out, people were waiting months – and months – to get one).

I really felt like I had found something to fit my needs…so I rented one from LensRentals a couple of weeks ago and gave it a test drive. I’m not going to get into a review of the camera, but I greatly enjoyed it. Yes, there is a bit of a learning curve, but I am extremely happy with the results I got in my limited time with the Fuji X100. I can’t to see the improvements they make in the X100s and hope to pick one up later in the year.

Here are a few of my favorites: fujix100_1

fujix100_2

fujix100_6

fujix100_3

fujix100_4

fujix100_5

fuji x100_1

fuji x100_2

fuji x100_3

fuji x100_4

Images shot with Fuji X100.

Edited with Adobe Lightroom 4.3 and Silver Efex Pro 2.

    • Esme :P
    • January 29th, 2013

    nice shots!! specially the first one and the door.. love me some BW…
    I would love that camera, it will be perfect for my Texas project 🙂
    I better start saving some cash 🙂

    • thanks! I figured you’d like the door!

      yes, the camera is very nice! I am thinking it will be a great birthday present (to myself, that is…).

  1. The black and white photo of the Rio Grande Theater is great!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

