fun bags are full of hot air. january 31, twenty thirteen.

Ever since I was a kid, I’ve always wanted to go to the balloon festival in Albuquerque, New Mexico. I finally got a chance a number of years ago; I was sadly disappointed as it was canceled due to weather. When I first moved to Las Cruces, I knew I would be able to make the short trip up to Albuquerque. However, due to poor planning on my part, I didn’t make it. I then learned that there was going to be a balloon festival in Mesilla, NM. Stoked! Made sure to plan ahead, get the right dates, and even got set up to be the “official” photographer.

But then it was canceled.

Due to a lack of sponsorship, they canceled the Mesilla Valley Balloon Festival. A few people – “ballooners” is what they liked to be called, apparently – committed to still come out…

The Mesilla Valley “Balloon Rally” was now born.

The rally was held on a small field behind an office building; basically it was held on some farmland…farmland surrounded by portable houses. Apparently, since the event was not sponsored, they could not have it at the original location – which was supposedly just another larger field a few miles down.

Despite it being extremely cold, it was still a lot of fun. I ended up chatting with one of the local “ballooners” and got their information. He said I am welcome to go up with him in the future; I am very excited for that to happen.

As I mentioned, it was (VERY) cold…and I didn’t prepare very well clothing wise. But before my fingers turned a new shade of blue, I was able to get a few shots…

ballonfest_8

ballonfest_2

ballonfest_3

ballonfest_4

ballonfest_6

ballonfest_7

ballonfest_9

ballonfest_1

Yup, that last one is me holding on to one of the balloons so it doesn’t fly away as they inflated it… Yeah, I should have been using both hands (especially since at one point it picked me up off the ground…) but I couldn’t help but snap a quick shot!

Images shot with Canon 5DMK2, Tokina 10-17 Fisheye and Canon 24-105 4L IS lenses.

Edited with Adobe Lightroom 4.3.

  1. Really dig those first and last shots.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

