nmsu ro-de-o. may 8, twenty thirteen.

Well, what can I say…I have been slacking on the blog posts (again!). It’s not like I don’t have anything to post, I’ve been shooting a lot – in fact, I’ve got about three or four recent photo adventures I need to edit and get up. But what can I say…

Last weekend, I went to the New Mexico State University (NMSU) College Rodeo.

Now, I’ve never been to a rodeo, so I really didn’t know what to expect…especially when it came to taking pictures. I got there late (of course), so seating was pretty scarce; I ended up in the back – and of course I didn’t bring my long telephoto lens. I honestly thought about just enjoying the rodeo and leaving the camera in the bag…but I knew I’d regret it later.

After a while, I moved to a different area where there were fewer people – it wasn’t the best viewing angle, but it worked.

I made the mistake of taking WAY TOO MANY pictures…shot in burst mode and just laid on the shutter…part of the reason it took so long to edit (that, and I’m lazy).

Anyway, here are some of the ones I edited…

nmsurodeo_5a

nmsurodeo_3

nmsurodeo_4

nmsurodeo_7

nmsurodeo_8

nmsurodeo_9

nmsurodeo_9b&w

nmsurodeo_10

nmsurodeo_11

nmsurodeo_12

nmsurodeo_13

nmsurodeo_14

nmsurodeo_19

nmsurodeo_15

nmsurodeo_16

nmsurodeo_18

nmsurodeo_17ab

nmsurodeo_2a

It was pretty fun and a good learning experience…if I ever photograph a rodeo again.

Images shot with Canon 5DMK2 and Canon 24-105 4L IS lens.

Edited with Adobe Lightroom 4.4 and Silver Efex Pro 2.

  1. sooo crispy, i like!

    • Kat
    • May 8th, 2013

    Great work! I feel like you captured two of that poor clown’s ‘oh shit’ moments perfectly. ESP the 2nd one w all the cowboys in the back laughin. Lol 🙂 great shots as always!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

