fierro portrait session. july 8th, twenty thirteen.

A couple of weeks ago, I did some portraits of my friend Yvonne, her daughter and granddaughter. I work with Yvonne and she has been asking me to take a couple of pictures of her to give to her dad…this has been going on since last October; I kept trying to get a date set, but nothing worked. Then, Yvonne’s daughter asked about pictures of her daughter (Yvonne’s granddaughter). After visiting with them a couple of times to get an idea of what they wanted, we set a date and picked a couple of locations.

Now, it has been a LONG time since I’ve done a portrait session. I’ve shot some pictures for friends here and there and done some street portraits, but nothing “official” – most of my photography lately has been in the medical and commercial areas, and personal projects.

I also found out I would be dealing with a four-year-old. Not that this is a problem, in fact I enjoy photographing little kids (that might have come out wrong…) – what I mean is that I just let them run around and have a good time and grab some shots while they play, no worrying about trying to pose them or anything. Just let them be a kid and I be a photographer. However, I didn’t know how exactly things would go with the four-year-old, so I got my friend Mindy to help me; Mindy’s main job was to help keep the four-year-old busy while I took the pictures. Mindy did great! I was able to let her keep the kiddo entertained while I focused (no pun intended) on getting the pictures I wanted.

While the four-year-old was the main subject, I also got a few photographs of Yvonne – including one for her dad, finally – and Yvonne’s daughter. It was a good time overall, despite being hot and the kiddo getting tired, and they were very happy with the final images – which is always a win in my book!!

Here are a few of my favorites:

ballerina_corridor_1

ballerina_corridor_2

ballerina_iloveyou_1_b

ballerina_iloveyou_2

daughter_fence_1

daughter_fence_2_b&w

daughter_fence_2

vanessa_corridor_1_a

fierro_family_1

fierro_family_2

vanessa_bridge_1

vanessa_bridge_2

vanessa_daughter_bridge_2

vanessa_daughter_bridge_3 not sharp

yvonne_vanessa_bench_1_b

yvonne_corridor_1

yvonne_daughter_2

yvonne_daughter_1

Images shot with Canon 5DMK2 and Canon 70-200 2.8L IS lens.

Edited with Adobe Lightroom 4.4.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

