i love my job. november 11th. twenty fifteen.

Early last month (October), a friend asked me to photograph an adoption event for an organization she is involved with. I was hesitant because I am not a fan of event photography; I dislike “posed” photos and that’s a lot of what event photography entails. She said it was for the Golden Retriever Rescue of El Paso, so of course I jumped at the opportunity. Now, without going through some huge back story, I have a long relationship with Golden Retrievers; my family raised Goldens, I grew up with them, and have always had Goldens until recently. I was told this was an event mainly celebrating all the Golden Retrievers they’ve helped place – meaning most of the dogs there already belonged to someone; I was kinda bummed…but it’s probably a good thing because I would have taken one (or five) home.

Once I learned more about the event, and the expected size, I got a few members from my photo club involved. Since these photos would be used to help promote their organization, I wanted to get them as many images as possible. Also, I knew I would probably be spending too much time playing with all the pups!

When I arrived, I was immediately tackled by three Goldens. I was happy. I spent about 3 hours walking around taking pictures of all these beautiful Goldens, and a lot of that time also playing with them. Here are some (a lot) of my favorites:

grrep_1

grrep_2

grrep_3

grrep_4

grrep_5

grrep_6

grrep_7

grrep_8

grrep_9

grrep_10

grrep_11

grrep_12

grrep_13

grrep_14

grrep_15

grrep_16

grrep_27

grrep_28

grrep_29

IMG_0557

It’s pretty safe to say I had a blast. I also learned trying to photograph playful animals can be difficult, but I definitely wasn’t complaining…

rob-golden

Images shot with Canon 5DMK2 , Canon 35 1.4L and Tokina Fisheye 10-17 lenses.

Edited with Adobe Lightroom CC and Adobe Photoshop CC.

    • Me
    • May 24th, 2017

    💚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

