hillsboro, new mexico. march 23rd. twenty sixteen.

So, finally putting something on the blog this year (2016). What can I say…well, nothing really, I just haven’t been shooting much and I hope to change that.

About a month ago, I went on a photo adventure with the Doña Ana Photography Club to Hillsboro, New Mexico. I wasn’t sure I was going to attend since my foot started bothering me that morning and I didn’t want to be walking around on it much; however, I decided to suck it up and go. About 10 other club members met up, piled into cars and headed out.

After about an hour of driving, we ended up in “Historic” Hillsboro, NM. The majority of our group decided to eat lunch first at the Hillsboro General Store; since Frank and I already ate, we grabbed our gear and started walking around.

I managed to find an antique store that had a TON of cameras…

I spent a good 30 mins talking to the owner and playing with old vintage cameras. I did good though…I only bought 3! (I wanted about 20…)

We walked around and snapped some photos for about an hour or so, then decided to take a little break. Frank wasn’t feeling 100% and by this time my foot was really bothering me, so we dropped off our gear and just grabbed our point-and-shoot cameras (smart move!). We “checked in” and found many had just finished lunch, so we continued to walk around and eventually met up with some of the others. After another couple of hours, Frank and I were pretty done and headed back to Las Cruces.

I sat on the images for a while, just didn’t feel motivated to really do any editing. Finally, while visiting my dad during spring break, I decided to see what – if anything – I captured; plus, it helped the time go by fast while he was at work. Played around with black and white more than ever before I think, it worked in some cases…others not so much.

hillsboro_13hillsboro_2hillsboro_3hillsboro_5hillsboro_4hillsboro_6_b&whillsboro_6hillsboro_7hillsboro_9_holgahillsboro_9_b&whillsboro_8hillsboro_10hillsboro_14hillsboro_12hillsboro_15hillsboro_16hillsboro_1hillsboro_11

Images shot with Ricoh GR (23mm equivalent lens), Canon 5DMK2 and Canon 35 1.4L and Sigma 50mm f/1.4 “Art” lenses.

Edited with Adobe Lightroom CC and Adobe Photoshop CC.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

