it’s been a while…what I’ve been up to and the revamp. august 2nd. twenty seventeen.

I started this photography blog a number of years ago when I was doing a 365 project along with a bunch of friends in Lubbock. Unfortunately, I never finished; I became overwhelmed with work and life changes and, more importantly, emotions – I was putting a lot into the 365 project and it brought up a lot of mixed emotions about my mother who had passed the previous year (2009). In many ways, I was using the blog to express my feelings – which was good and bad – and I had to walk away. I promised to keep up with the blog though, using it to share the photography work I was doing, the adventures I was having, and sharing my life experiences – as the catch line states “showing you the world, one image at a time.” However, I failed.

I used to often say “Life Gets in the Way” when it came to the irregular blog posts. I would share, then months and months would go by and nothing. Then I’d post a bunch of images and, again, nothing for months. I vowed to improve. I vowed to post more and share what I was capturing. But I never did. I like writing. I like writing these posts. I just stopped. For a long time.

Towards the end of last year (2016) I met with my friend, Rachel Courtney, about redesigning a logo for my photography business. (Rachel is an awesome graphic designer and photographer who runs Pretty Nice Creations, if you need some design work I highly recommend her!)

The reason I wanted the redesign was simple: I wanted to change things up and bring new life to my business. Hell, I wanted to bring new life to my passion for photography! After months of meetings, dozens of emails, and lots of revisions, we came up with this…

And it worked. Over the last couple months, I have been out shooting more, have started new photography challenges, and have picked up a few new clients. Most importantly…I wanted to go out and take photos again!

Along with this new found inspiration, I am updating my professional site and I wanted to start this blog up again. I wanted to start writing again. I wanted to start sharing again.

Since I haven’t posted in a while, I wanted to start this “revamp” by sharing some of the shots I’ve been taking…some are older, some are newer. Enjoy.

Images shot with Ricoh GR (23mm equivalent lens), Canon 5DMK2 and Canon 35 1.4L lens.

Edited with Adobe Lightroom CC and Adobe Photoshop CC.

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

